The People of St. Philip Catholic Church

Our Mission: We, the people of St. Philip Catholic Church, as disciples of Jesus Christ, joyfully celebrate the Eucharist as a community and share and proclaim the Word of God to our neighbors.

Guided by the traditions of the past and with a clear focus on our future, St. Philip strives to retain the vision of those early families who struggled to bring the Catholic faith to Franklin by reaching out to the community. Today, St. Philip Catholic Church continues to do so as one of Franklin’s most dynamic Christian churches.

Our Priests

Father Bala Showraiah,

Office: (615) 550-2832
Cell:1712-078 (516)

Our pastor’s full name is Marneni Bala Showraiah. Father Bala is the third of seven children of Chinnaiah (which means “Peter”) & Teresa. He was born on June 10, 1962 at Dharmaram in India. As a priest he worked in the mission areas of India and lived in Dharmaram and Hyderabad. He loves charismatic preaching and reading of the Bible. In 1976 entered the Franciscan seminary; made his simple vows in 1982 and his final vows in 1987. 

Fr. Nick Allen,
Associate Pastor

Office: (615) 550-2830

I grew up in Nashville and graduated from Overton High School.  After high school I attended Our Lady of Holy Cross College in New Orleans and then stayed in New Orleans to prepare for the priesthood at Notre Dame Seminary.  In 2008 Bishop David Choby ordained me and since then I have served in many ministries around the Diocese.  I love working with the youth and enjoy teaching.  In my free time I enjoy reading and cooking.

I am very happy to be here and look forward to serving the St. Philip Community.  Know you are all in my prayers and I ask for yours as well.

God Bless.

Deacons & Staff


Rev. Mr. Rafael Bougrat

Rev. Mr. Paul Brancheau


Mariana Aparcana
Cash Receipts & Records Analyst
(615) 550-2841

John Angotti
Director of Music & Liturgy

(615) 550-2834

Loran Dosen

Melissa Doyle
Catechesis of the Good Shepherd
(Pre-school through Grade 6)

(615) 550-2837

Val Fernandes
Accounts Payable/Payroll & Project Analyst

Lesley Hamilton
Administrative Assistant, Learning Center

Maria Herrera
Administrative Assistant, Religious Education
(615) 550-2840

Tricia Keef
Bookstore Assistant Manager
(615) 794-4236

Kim Leisinger
Director of Administration
(615) 550-2836

Marianne Reeves
Bulletin Editor
(615) 550-2845

Susan Skinner
Adult Faith Formation & RCIA
(615) 550-2846

Julianne Staley
Director of Youth & Young Adult Ministry
(Grades 7-12)

(615) 550-2838

Gabriela Tinoco
Accounting Support Analyst
(615) 550-2843

Greg Walton
Electronic Evangelization
(615) 656-2170

Karen Williams
Learning Center Director
(615) 550-2844

Parish Council

Parish Pastoral Council Chairperson

Paolo Motta,

Administration & Finance

Mike Ren,

Building & Grounds

Carol Brown,


Paolo Motta,

Discipleship Council

Pat Thompson,


John Paul Palelil,

Education & Formation

John Carswell,

Hispanic Ministry

Miguel Valadez & Maria Perez,

Knights of Columbus

Tim Healy,

Men’s Club

Mark Wenzel,

Parish & Family Life

Monica Garvey,

Social Action

Paul Garvey,

Women of St. Philip

Barb Weller,

Worship & Spirituality

Patrick Bentley,

Finance Board

Finance Board Chairperson

Thomas Moore, moc.nilknarFpilihPtS@draoBecnaniF

Board Members

Ed Balsmann
Joe St. Lawrence
Mike Ren
Steve Tisdell
Declan Weir

Administration & Finance Page

Discipleship Council

Discipleship Council Chairperson

Pat Thompson, moc.nilknarFpilihPtS@pihselpicsiD

Council Members

Lori Bedock
Dave Bilger
Deacon Paul Brancheau
Buddy Campos
Israel Cordero
Carol Guthrie
Paul Hannigan
Father Fred Klettner
Edme Mendez
Dorothy Nichols
Ainish Palelil
John Paul Palelil
Maria Perez
Pat Thompson
Ellen Marie Tutaj
George Tutaj

Discipleship Council Page


Proverbs 29:18 says that “Where there is no vision, the people perish.”

Many people fail in life, not for lack of ability or brains or even courage, but simply because they have never organized their energies around a goal.
~Elbert Hubbard

During the Parish Pastoral Council Retreat in January of 2017, the desire was expressed to do a thorough review of our work as a parish, and earnestly seek where God is calling us to be in the next 5-10 years. Because of this, the Rev. Ashley Abarca-Mitchell was invited to share about her work using the Appreciative Inquiry model with healthy parishes as a new approach to Visioning and Strategic planning.

She proposed that that during our time together we would focus on a healthy parish model set forth in Acts 2:42-47 modeling fellowship, discipleship, worship, ministry and evangelism. Our process work would focus on:

a. Clarity of mission and vision- the why
b. Authentic community
c. Communication

This would require 3 months of high intensity work on behalf of a leadership team and the entire parish and 12-60 months of implementation.

Prayer is first and foremost. We must begin with prayer- for the leadership team and the entire parish. During the first 30 days, we met with Priests, staff, leadership teams and core groups to ask questions, build relationships and gain insight into the questions we needed ask during our visioning sessions.

Below is a full report of the process

Sanctus Report