The People of St. Philip Catholic Church

Our Mission: We, the people of St. Philip Catholic Church, as disciples of Jesus Christ, joyfully celebrate the Eucharist as a community and share and proclaim the Word of God to our neighbors.

Guided by the traditions of the past and with a clear focus on our future, St. Philip strives to retain the vision of those early families who struggled to bring the Catholic faith to Franklin by reaching out to the community. Today, St. Philip Catholic Church continues to do so as one of Franklin’s most dynamic Christian churches.

Our Priests

Father Bala Showraiah,
Pastor

Office: 615-550-2832
Cell: 615-870-2171
FrBala@StPhilipFranklin.com

Our pastor’s full name is Marneni Bala Showraiah. Father Bala is the third of seven children of Chinnaiah (which means “Peter”) & Teresa. He was born on June 10, 1962 at Dharmaram in India. As a priest he worked in the mission areas of India and lived in Dharmaram and Hyderabad. He loves charismatic preaching and reading of the Bible. In 1976 entered the Franciscan seminary; made his simple vows in 1982 and his final vows in 1987. 

Father Gervan Menezes,
Associate Pastor

Office: 615-550-2833
Cell: 210-362-0919
FrGervan@StPhilipFranklin.com

Father Gervan Menezes, more commonly known as Father G, was ordained to the priesthood on July 26, 2014. Since then he has lived and served at the Cathedral of the Incarnation in Nashville, where he has functioned as Master of Ceremonies for both Bishop David Choby and Bishop Mark Spalding. In addition to his duties at the Cathedral, he ministered as Chaplain for the Diocese of Nashville’s Youth Office, and as Chaplain for Father Ryan High School. 

Fr. Noble Dominic Ambalathuruthel, MSFS,
Associate Pastor

Office: 615-550-2830
Cell: 931-982-8157
FrNoble@StPhilipFranklin.com

Father Noble comes to St. Philip from Kerala, India. Born November 1, 1985 he is the second son of Dominic and Thresiamma Ambalathuruthel. After completing the 10th grade he attended the minor seminary of the Missionaries of St. Francis de Sales (M.S.F.S.) in Vadakkumcherry and Ettumanoor, Kerala, India. He completed his training at seminaries in Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka, India.

Deacons & Staff

Deacons

Rev. Mr. Rafael Bougrat
DeaconRafael@StPhilipFranklin.com

Rev. Mr. Paul Brancheau
DeaconPaul@StPhilipFranklin.com

Staff

Mariana Aparcana
Cash Receipts & Records Analyst
615-550-2841
MAparcana@StPhilipFranklin.com

John Angotti
Director of Music & Liturgy

615-550-2834
Liturgy@StPhilipFranklin.com

Loran Dosen
Maintenance
Loran_SFM@StPhilipFranklin.com

Melissa Doyle
Catechesis of the Good Shepherd
(Pre-school through Grade 6)

615-550-2837
MDoyle@StPhilipFranklin.com

Jeanne Force
Accounting Support Analyst
615-550-2843
JForce@StPhilipFranklin.com

Lesley Hamilton
Administrative Assistant, Learning Center
LHamilton@StPhilipFranklin.com

Maria Herrera
Administrative Assistant, Religious Education
615-550-2840
MHerrera@StPhilipFranklin.com

Tricia Keef
Bookstore Assistant Manager
615-794-4236
TKeef@StPhilipFranklin.com

Kim Leisinger
Director of Administration
615-550-2836
KLeisinger@StPhilipFranklin.com

Josh Medeiros
Youth Ministry Activities Coordinator
615-550-2839
JMedeiros@StPhilipFranklin.com

Marianne Reeves
Bulletin Editor
615-550-2845
Bulletin@StPhilipFranklin.com

Susan Skinner
Adult Faith Formation & RCIA
615-550-2846
SSkinner@StPhilipFranklin.com

Julianne Staley
Youth Ministry Coordinator for Catechesis
(Grades 7-12)

615-550-2838
JStaley@StPhilipFranklin.com

Gabriela Tinoco
Accts. Pay, Payroll, Proj. Anyalyst
615-550-2842
GTinoco@StPhilipFranklin.com

Greg Walton
Electronic Evangelization
615-656-2170
GWalton@StPhilipFranklin.com

Karen Williams
Learning Center Director
615-550-2844
KWilliams@StPhilipFranklin.com

Parish Council

Parish Pastoral Council Chairperson

Paolo Motta,
ParishCouncil@StPhilipFranklin.com


Administration & Finance

Mike Ren,
AdminAndFinance@StPhilipFranklin.com


Building & Grounds

Carol Brown,
BuildingsAndGrounds@StPhilipFranklin.com


Communication

Paolo Motta,
Communications@StPhilipFranklin.com


Discipleship Council

Pat Thompson,
Discipleship@StPhilipFranklin.com


Evangelization

John Paul Palelil,
Evangelization@StPhilipFranklin.com


Education & Formation

John Carswell,
EducationAndFormation@StPhilipFranklin.com


Hispanic Ministry

Miguel Valadez & Maria Perez,
HispanicMinistry@StPhilipFranklin.com

Knights of Columbus

David Hamilton,
Knights@StPhilipFranklin.com


Men’s Club

Mark Wenzel,
MensClub@StPhilipFranklin.com


Parish & Family Life

Monica Garvey,
ParishAndFamilyLife@StPhilipFranklin.com


Social Action

Paul Garvey,
SocialAction@StPhilipFranklin.com


Women of St. Philip

Barb Weller,
WofSP@StPhilipFranklin.com


Worship & Spirituality

Patrick Bentley,
WorshipAndSpiritual@StPhilipFranklin.com

Finance Board

Finance Board Chairperson

Thomas Moore, FinanceBoard@StPhilipFranklin.com

Board Members

Ed Balsmann
Joe St. Lawrence
Mike Ren
Steve Tisdale
Declan Weir

Administration & Finance Page

Discipleship Council

Discipleship Council Chairperson

Pat Thompson, Discipleship@StPhilipFranklin.com

Council Members

Lori Bedock
Dave Bilger
Deacon Paul Brancheau
Buddy Campos
Israel Cordero
Carol Guthrie
Paul Hannigan
Father Fred Klettner
Edme Mendez
Dorothy Nichols
Ainish Palelil
John Paul Palelil
Maria Perez
Pat Thompson
Ellen Marie Tutaj
George Tutaj

Discipleship Council Page

Sanctus

Proverbs 29:18 says that “Where there is no vision, the people perish.”

Many people fail in life, not for lack of ability or brains or even courage, but simply because they have never organized their energies around a goal.
~Elbert Hubbard

During the Parish Pastoral Council Retreat in January of 2017, the desire was expressed to do a thorough review of our work as a parish, and earnestly seek where God is calling us to be in the next 5-10 years. Because of this, the Rev. Ashley Abarca-Mitchell was invited to share about her work using the Appreciative Inquiry model with healthy parishes as a new approach to Visioning and Strategic planning.

She proposed that that during our time together we would focus on a healthy parish model set forth in Acts 2:42-47 modeling fellowship, discipleship, worship, ministry and evangelism. Our process work would focus on:

a. Clarity of mission and vision- the why
b. Authentic community
c. Communication

This would require 3 months of high intensity work on behalf of a leadership team and the entire parish and 12-60 months of implementation.

Prayer is first and foremost. We must begin with prayer- for the leadership team and the entire parish. During the first 30 days, we met with Priests, staff, leadership teams and core groups to ask questions, build relationships and gain insight into the questions we needed ask during our visioning sessions.

Below is a full report of the process

Sanctus Report