About Us2018-11-09T15:33:30+00:00

About St. Philip Catholic Church

Our Mission: We, the people of St. Philip Catholic Church, as disciples of Jesus Christ, joyfully celebrate the Eucharist as a community and share and proclaim the Word of God to our neighbors.

Guided by the traditions of the past and with a clear focus on our future, St. Philip strives to retain the vision of those early families who struggled to bring the Catholic faith to Franklin by reaching out to the community. Today, St. Philip Catholic Church continues to do so as one of Franklin’s most dynamic Christian churches.

Our Priests

Father Bala Showraiah,
Pastor

Office: 615-550-2832
Cell: 615-870-2171
FrBala@StPhilipFranklin.com

Our pastor’s full name is Marneni Bala Showraiah. Father Bala is the third of seven children of Chinnaiah (which means “Peter”) & Teresa. He was born on June 10, 1962 at Dharmaram in India. As a priest he worked in the mission areas of India and lived in Dharmaram and Hyderabad. He has baptized approximately 200 non-Catholics. He loves charismatic preaching and reading of the Bible. In 1976 entered the Franciscan seminary; made his simple vows in 1982 and his final vows in 1987. 

Father Gervan Menezes,
Associate Pastor

Office: 615-550-2833
Cell: 210-362-0919
FrGervan@StPhilipFranklin.com

Father Gervan Menezes, more commonly known as Father G, was ordained to the priesthood on July 26, 2014. Since then he has lived and served at the Cathedral of the Incarnation in Nashville, where he has functioned as Master of Ceremonies for both Bishop David Choby and Bishop Mark Spalding. In addition to his duties at the Cathedral, he ministered as Chaplain for the Diocese of Nashville’s Youth Office, and as Chaplain for Father Ryan High School. 

Deacons & Staff

Deacons

Rev. Mr. Rafael Bougrat
DeaconRafael@StPhilipFranklin.com

Rev. Mr. Paul Brancheau
DeaconPaul@StPhilipFranklin.com

Staff

Mariana Aparcana
Cash Receipts & Records Analyst
615-550-2841
MAparcana@StPhilipFranklin.com

John Angotti
Director of Music & Liturgy

615-550-2834
Liturgy@StPhilipFranklin.com

Karen Cubas
Custodian

Melissa Doyle
Catechesis of the Good Shepherd
(Pre-school through Grade 6)

615-550-2837
MDoyle@StPhilipFranklin.com

Jeanne Force
Accounting Support Analyst
615-550-2843
JForce@StPhilipFranklin.com

Lesley Hamilton
Administrative Assistant, Learning Center
LHamilton@StPhilipFranklin.com

Maria Herrera
Administrative Assistant, Religious Education
615-550-2840
MHerrera@StPhilipFranklin.com

Tricia Keef
Bookstore Assistant Manager
615-794-4236
TKeef@StPhilipFranklin.com

Kim Leisinger
Director of Administration
615-550-2836
KLeisinger@StPhilipFranklin.com

Josh Medeiros
Youth Ministry Activities Coordinator
615-550-2839
JMedeiros@StPhilipFranklin.com

Marianne Reeves
Bulletin Editor
615-550-2845
Bulletin@StPhilipFranklin.com

Victor Sanford
Maintenance

Susan Skinner
Adult Faith Formation & RCIA
615-550-2846
SSkinner@StPhilipFranklin.com

Julianne Staley
Youth Ministry Coordinator for Catechesis
(Grades 7-12)

615-550-2838
JStaley@StPhilipFranklin.com

Gabriela Tinoco
Accts. Pay, Payroll, Proj. Anyalyst
615-550-2842
GTinoco@StPhilipFranklin.com

Greg Walton
Electronic Evangelization
615-656-2170
GWalton@StPhilipFranklin.com

Karen Williams
Learning Center Director
615-550-2844
KWilliams@StPhilipFranklin.com

Parish Council

Parish Pastoral Council Chairperson

Monica Garvey,
ParishCouncil@StPhilipFranklin.com


Administration & Finance

Mike Ren,
AdminAndFinance@StPhilipFranklin.com


Building & Grounds

Dennis Chen,
BuildingsAndGrounds@StPhilipFranklin.com


Communication

Paolo Motta,
Communications@StPhilipFranklin.com


Discipleship Council

Pat Thompson,
Discipleship@StPhilipFranklin.com


 Evangelization

George Tutaj,
Evangelization@StPhilipFranklin.com


Education & Formation

John Carswell,
EducationAndFormation@StPhilipFranklin.com


Hispanic Ministry

Miguel Valadez & Maria Perez,
HispanicMinistry@StPhilipFranklin.com

Knights of Columbus

David Hamilton,
Knights@StPhilipFranklin.com


Men’s Club

Gerry Holmes,
MensClub@StPhilipFranklin.com


Parish & Family Life

Monica Garvey,
ParishAndFamilyLife@StPhilipFranklin.com


Social Action

Paul Garvey,
SocialAction@StPhilipFranklin.com


Women of St. Philip

Melissa Ladd,
WofSP@StPhilipFranklin.com


Worship & Spirituality

Patrick Bentley,
WorshipAndSpiritual@StPhilipFranklin.com

Finance Board

Finance Board Chairperson

Thomas Moore, FinanceBoard@StPhilipFranklin.com

Board Members

Declan Weir
Teri Gordon
Carlo Serraiocco
Jim Sokol
Joe St. Lawrence
Mike Ren

Administration & Finance Page

Discipleship Council

Discipleship Council Chairperson

Pat Thompson, Discipleship@StPhilipFranklin.com

Council Members

Lori Bedock
Dave Bilger
Deacon Paul Brancheau
Buddy Campos
Israel Cordero
Carol Guthrie
Paul Hannigan
Father Fred Klettner
Edme Mendez
Dorothy Nichols
Ainish Palelil
John Paul Palelil
Maria Perez
Pat Thompson
Ellen Marie Tutaj
George Tutaj

Discipleship Council Page