The People of St. Philip Catholic Church

Our Mission: We, the people of St. Philip Catholic Church, as disciples of Jesus Christ, joyfully celebrate the Eucharist as a community and share and proclaim the Word of God to our neighbors.

Guided by the traditions of the past and with a clear focus on our future, St. Philip strives to retain the vision of those early families who struggled to bring the Catholic faith to Franklin by reaching out to the community. Today, St. Philip Catholic Church continues to do so as one of Franklin’s most dynamic Christian churches.

Our Priests

Father Ed Steiner,
Pastor

Office: 615-550-2832
FrEd@StPhilipFranklin.com

Fr. Rhodes Bolster,
Associate Pastor

Office: 615-550-2833
FrBolster@StPhilipFranklin.com

Deacons & Staff

Deacons

Deacon Rafael Bougrat
DeaconRafael@StPhilipFranklin.com

Deacon Paul Brancheau
DeaconPaul@StPhilipFranklin.com

Deacon John Froning
DeaconJohn@StPhilipFranklin.com

Staff

Mariana Aparcana
Cash Receipts & Records Analyst
615-550-2841
MAparcana@StPhilipFranklin.com

John Angotti
Director of Music & Liturgy

615-550-2834
Liturgy@StPhilipFranklin.com

Loran Dosen
Maintenance
Loran_SFM@StPhilipFranklin.com

Val Fernandes
Accounts Payable/Payroll & Project Analyst
615-550-2842
VFernandes@StPhilipFranklin.com

Lesley Hamilton
Administrative Assistant, Learning Center
615-550-2844
LHamilton@StPhilipFranklin.com

Maria Herrera
Administrative Assistant, Religious Education
615-550-2840
MHerrera@StPhilipFranklin.com

Tricia Keef
Bookstore Assistant Manager
615-794-4236
TKeef@StPhilipFranklin.com

Kim Leisinger
Director of Administration
615-550-2836
KLeisinger@StPhilipFranklin.com

Michaela Miller
Assis. Dir. of Formation of the Young Church
615-550-2837
MMiller@StPhilipFranklin.com

Marianne Reeves
Bulletin Editor
615-550-2845
Bulletin@StPhilipFranklin.com

Susan Skinner
Director of Adult Faith Formation & RCIA
615-550-2846
SSkinner@StPhilipFranklin.com

Helen Simpson
Formation Assistant
615-550-2839
HSimpson@StPhilipFranklin.com

Julianne Staley
Director of Formation of the Young Church
(Grades 7-12+)

615-550-2838
JStaley@StPhilipFranklin.com

Gabriela Tinoco
Financial Services Coordinator
615-550-2843
GTinoco@StPhilipFranklin.com

Greg Walton
Electronic Evangelization
615-656-2170
GWalton@StPhilipFranklin.com

Karen Williams
Learning Center Director
615-550-2844
KWilliams@StPhilipFranklin.com

Ana Zarraga
Pastoral Associate
615-550-2835
AZarraga@StPhilipFranklin.com

Parish Council

Parish Pastoral Council Chairperson

Paolo Motta,
ParishCouncil@StPhilipFranklin.com


Administration & Finance

Mike Ren,
AdminAndFinance@StPhilipFranklin.com


Building & Grounds

Carol Brown,
BuildingsAndGrounds@StPhilipFranklin.com


Communication

Paolo Motta,
Communications@StPhilipFranklin.com


Discipleship Council

George Tutaj,
Discipleship@StPhilipFranklin.com


Evangelization

John Paul Palelil,
Evangelization@StPhilipFranklin.com


Education & Formation

Jean Marie Weir,
EducationAndFormation@StPhilipFranklin.com


Hispanic Ministry

Miguel Valadez & Maria Perez,
HispanicMinistry@StPhilipFranklin.com

Knights of Columbus

Bill Jones,
Knights@StPhilipFranklin.com


Men’s Club

Matt Brzica,
MensClub@StPhilipFranklin.com


Parish & Family Life

Mark Kochamba,
ParishAndFamilyLife@StPhilipFranklin.com


Social Action

Chris Nelson,
SocialAction@StPhilipFranklin.com


Women of St. Philip

Barb Weller,
WofSP@StPhilipFranklin.com


Worship & Spirituality

Patrick Bentley,
WorshipAndSpirituality@StPhilipFranklin.com

Finance Board

Finance Board Chairperson

Thomas Moore, FinanceBoard@StPhilipFranklin.com

Board Members

Joe St. Lawrence
Mike Ren
Ed Scott
Steve Tisdell
Declan Weir

Administration & Finance Page

Discipleship Council

Discipleship Council Chairperson

George Tutaj, Discipleship@StPhilipFranklin.com

Council Members

Lori Bedock
Dave Bilger
Deacon Paul Brancheau
Buddy Campos
Israel Cordero
Carol Guthrie
Edme Mendez
Dorothy Nichols
Ainish Palelil
John Paul Palelil
Maria Perez
Pat Thompson
Ellen Marie Tutaj
George Tutaj

Discipleship Council Page

Sanctus

Proverbs 29:18 says that “Where there is no vision, the people perish.”

Many people fail in life, not for lack of ability or brains or even courage, but simply because they have never organized their energies around a goal.
~Elbert Hubbard

During the Parish Pastoral Council Retreat in January of 2017, the desire was expressed to do a thorough review of our work as a parish, and earnestly seek where God is calling us to be in the next 5-10 years. Because of this, the Rev. Ashley Abarca-Mitchell was invited to share about her work using the Appreciative Inquiry model with healthy parishes as a new approach to Visioning and Strategic planning.

She proposed that that during our time together we would focus on a healthy parish model set forth in Acts 2:42-47 modeling fellowship, discipleship, worship, ministry and evangelism. Our process work would focus on:

a. Clarity of mission and vision- the why
b. Authentic community
c. Communication

This would require 3 months of high intensity work on behalf of a leadership team and the entire parish and 12-60 months of implementation.

Prayer is first and foremost. We must begin with prayer- for the leadership team and the entire parish. During the first 30 days, we met with Priests, staff, leadership teams and core groups to ask questions, build relationships and gain insight into the questions we needed ask during our visioning sessions.

Below is a full report of the process

Sanctus Report